Sedu Icon 1" Styling Iron

$175.00
30% OFF
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
Sedu has created the most technologically advanced styling iron for smooth, lustrous hair every time.

Reviews 

Based on 19 Reviews

1 2
India
Washington, DC
Apr 26, 2012
3 Star Rating
Not Better Than My Croc 1 Infrared Flat Iron (1 1/2")
This flat iron is decent but I like my Croc 1 Infrared Flat Iron (1 1/2") better. I needed a smaller iron that was comparable or better than my Croc. I like my Croc for so many reasons but I can't curl with it. I chose this iron because of the brand and digital technology. Sedu seems to be a really popular and successful brand and all the rave reviews from the Sedu Revolution had me HYPED! I read a post that stated that this iron was an upgrade from the Sedu Revloution as it has the digital (vs analog) technology. Since my Croc is digital, I didn't want to down grade and get an analog iron. So, choosing this Sedu Icon made perfect sense.

Before I go into my experience, let me disclose that I am African American with 3c (Curly/Coily) hair texture. I am 8 months into my transition from relaxed to natural hair. I have about 3 inches of new growth. Blown out, my hair is below my ears but above my shoulders in the front and it slightly reaches my nape in the back. It's grown into this unappealing "shag" style that is not my favorite so I needed a flat iron that could "bend" more.

I used the iron about 4-5 times to make sure I gave it a fair chance. I'll list out the pros and cons to make it a little easier to read.
Pros:
1. Pretty color (more orange than yellow)
2. Very sleek and light weight
3. Easy grip (comparable to my Croc)
4. Makes hair very soft (may have done a better job than my Croc but honestly my Croc is too large of an iron for my hair length so it could be that I can't completely flat iron my hair well with the Croc. I bought the Croc mostly for when I wear my extensions. I would categorize this as 60 (Sedu)/40 (Croc). Not that much difference here.
5. Can use for curling (Can't curl or bend with my Croc at all which is one of the reasons why I needed a new iron in the first place)
6. Glides through the hair nicely (So does my Croc)
7. REAL Floating Plates (My Croc says the plates float but it doesn't really have loose floating plates. The Sedu plates actually move pretty well when you touch them meaning you can visually see the float.)
8. Auto shut off (So does my Croc). I didn't get the opportunity to see if this option really worked. I know it works well with my Croc.
9. Three year warranty (Wow, Sedu really stands behind this one!)

Cons: Doesn't stand up to my my Croc 1 Infrared Flat Iron (1 1/2") technology.
1. There are only 6 temperature settings. I usually flat iron my hair on 380. This setting was not an option on the Sedu. I believe the settings are 450, 400, 340, 280, 230 and 170. I can put my Croc on any setting of my choice between 280 and 450 in increments of 10. Also, with my Croc, you can actually see it heating up. The temperature increases right on the digital display as it is heating up. You can see it going from 280, 290, 300, 310, etc.
2. Doesn't really heat up or feel as if it gets as hot as my Croc. I used my Croc and the Sedu simultaneously the second time around. Placed on the same temperature setting (400), my Croc seemed to produce more heat. When the Sedu was at 450, it still didn't seem as hot. I had to go over my new growth too many times just to get it straight. This is not a once or twice over straightener.
3. Leaves no shine. My hair is a dirty brown so it naturally has no shine; however, after ironing my hair alternating the Croc and Sedu Icon to compare I felt as if the Croc gave me a better shine.
4. Didn't really give me a "professional" look. I don't think this made me look like I just walked out of the salon.
5. I believe my Croc generates more negative ions. There's no way to really test this. I say this for two reasons: (a) my hair looks better when flat ironed with the Croc and (b) my Croc has dual plate technology. My Croc has a solid Titanium plate on top and a split Ceramic and Tourmaline plate on the bottom with infrared heat dispensing wholes that divide them. Titanium is know to produce more negative ions than ceramic alone. The Sedu is a ceramic iron only.

Overall the iron is cool but I wasn't super impressed. If you're buying a new iron and not replacing an iron, this may work for you. If you are looking for a top notch iron, this one is NOT it. I honestly don't think this should be classified as a "professional" iron at any rate. To me, it's for home use only. A stylist would probably not retain many clients using this iron as their primary one. I don't think it really does MUCH for the look of the hair. I returned mine because it didn't blow me away, especially at this price point and I purchased it for a large amount less than the listed price. I was expecting more.
35 out of 38 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Jessika
Apr 24, 2012
5 Star Rating
Best Flat Iron Yet!
I love this flat iron! it leaves my hair soft and shiny. And best of all no need to worry if you forgot to turn it off! ;)
2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Rae
United States
Jan 25, 2012
5 Star Rating
A Well-rounded Iron!
I did not have the highest of expectations for this iron, despite the steep price, but I have concluded it is better than my GHD. Yes, I said it. I have a limited edition GHD but the plates are coated with a color, reducing the performance. If you want a GHD, stick to the traditional black and gold. That being said, I still think the Sedu Icon is the winner because it has auto shut-off and a digital plate to control the temperature. I love high-tech beauty gadgets! I am not a fan of GHD's self-adjusting technology and prefer to set my heat lower as not to flatten out the roots. By the way, this iron is orange, not yellow. I prefer orange anyway, but I just wanted to mention it in case you seriously considering a purchase. The rubber pads beneath the plates are really handy in case you have butter fingers, but even if you do not, they still make the iron much easier to grasp. I have used it to straighten and curl my hair and it works well for both styles.
15 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Pam
California
Jan 2, 2012
1 Star Rating
Not As Good As Ghd
I had a GHD iron for 6 years and I gave my old one to a friend who really loved my iron after using it and decided to buy a new one for myself. I read a lot of reviews and bought the Sedu Icon but found that it did not perform as well as the GHD. I then bought a new GHD and compared it to the Sedu and found that the texture of my hair was smoother and I had more volume with the GHD iron.

The new GHD has universeral voltage and can be used in multiple countires and also has a sleep feature after 30 minutes of no use.
I will be returing my Sedu Icon.
5 out of 9 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Pgs
Midwest
Dec 30, 2011
5 Star Rating
Best Flat Iron I've Ever Used And It Has An Auto Shut Off!
After my Chi broke just past the one year warranty, I've been on a quest for a great flat iron with an auto shut, since I'd accidentally left my old one more than once. I tried every brand - they either didn't straighen my already pretty straight hair, broke immediately, or pulled my hair. Finally, I decided to bite the bullet and buy this very expensive flat iron. What a difference - this one heats up quickly, straightens on one pass, glides through my hair beautifully, and....shuts itself off if I forget to do it! Plus it has a three year warranty. Highly recommended, but it's a splurge.
3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Madison
Dec 26, 2011
5 Star Rating
Amazing As Can Be!
I have tried 5 straightners in the past and in my opinion this is by far the best one yet! I recently had a chi and thought it was great but now i think other wise. My hair is not super thick but it is very volumous which makes it a pain to straighten. With my chi to do a decent job on my hair it took me probably no less then ten minutes i say about 15 minutes I think. With my new amazing sedu I can literally have a pretty good look in about 5 to 7 minutes. I love the auto shut off so I don't have to panick if I forgot to turn it off. Also it is very light weight which is nice. Another big thing my hair does not usually stay stick straight throughout the day and with my chi my hair would become less and less straight. This iron kepps my hair straighter for longer i believe than my chi usually did. Thank you sedu for this amazing product
6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Tgs..
Nov 5, 2011
5 Star Rating
Excellenttt!!!!!!
After trying many straighteners like CHI, Babyliss Tourmaline etc etc.. i came upon this website and Sedu is one brand name that caught my eye...i decided to try it out even though it charged me an insane amount of money since shipping to Canada isn't free... but in the end it really is worth it.

the material used to make it is solid, yet light weight and the results it gives you are even better. i would definitely recommend this iron to anyone looking for a good quality and excellent resulting straightener!! it will be worth your money.
10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Jazmin
Rockland, NY
Sep 28, 2011
5 Star Rating
Smooth Great Results!
When i used this flat iron i did not expect it to get all of the fly a ways smooth. It tamed my hair with one glide. No touch up was needed the next day, I'm amazed. I've already referred this tool my friends as the ultimate go to!
17 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Melissa
Sep 16, 2011
4 Star Rating
This Straightener Worked Very Well For Me :)
My hair is very thick, long, wavy/curly... WILD! So I need a good hair straightener to calm it down. I liked this one because it goes up to 450 degrees, which I need because of the kind of hair I have (low heat just doesn't work for me). It's nice because it doesn't feel like its ripping my hair out, or cracking it off while I use it. It also makes my hair feel very smooth. It's lightweight and easy to figure out. It heats up quickly, and you have the option of turning on/off the automatic shut off option. So far, the only negative that I find in it is the area behind the plates. It gets really HOT! You definitely don't want to touch it above the finger grips while you're using it, because it does get verrrrry hot! Overall though, I think it's a very good straightener, gets the job done! It's easy, my hair feels smooth, and it didn't do any damage to my hair :)
34 out of 41 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
1 2
Server Name