Paul Mitchell Flat Iron (Smoothing Iron)

We're sorry, Paul Mitchell has not authorized Folica to sell this product.


Visit Paul Mitchell Site

The Paul Mitchell Smoothing Iron protects against hair drying by sealing in natural oils and moisture, and promotes longer-lasting hair color. It's excellent for all hair types and textures!

Reviews 

Based on 200 Reviews

1 2 3 20
Ivy
Nov 4, 2013
5 Star Rating
Truly Wonderful For Hair
When I first started using straighteners I got all sorts of advice and instructions on how to section my hair and straighten it at high temperatures and to be careful about snagging my hair. Straightening was awful and it kind of messed with the texture too.

Then I bought this almost 7 years ago and truthfully, it changed my hair!
No burning, no singing, nothing ever snagged and it was so easy to use it's incredible. I never had to section anything. I could keep the temperature low and just run it through my hair like a comb and it would still have a smoothing effect.
Plus I think it was the ceramic plates but my hair naturally started becoming more silky and didn't frizz back up between shampoos.

I would still be using it except the cord has finally died and now I'm in the market for Paul Mitchell's latest version of hair straightening.
3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Jennifer
Jan 5, 2013
5 Star Rating
Pretty Awesome
im not going to go absolutly over the top about explaining this product....but i have had my flat iron for 4 years and while i try to buy others i always go back to ol faithful =) she has never let me down. I have a bob haircut super long in front my hair is then i use the lowest setting and it straightens my hair perfectly i love it
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Sue P.
Jul 24, 2012
5 Star Rating
Looking For A New Pmitchell Flat Iron...
I have had 2 Paul Mitchell flat irons in about 8 years and absolutely loved them. I blew through so many other crappy ones before that and am afraid to invest in any thing else. I wonder if they are back on the market. Anyone who complains about this product...sorry you had a bad experience because it has been an AWESOME product.
4 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Eileen B.
Nova Scotia
Jun 20, 2012
5 Star Rating
Need Some Help Please
I purchased my flat iron and it isn't working. I did use it for a bit but then one day it arked and i got a scare ad dropped it onthe floor. Now it doesn'twant to heat up. Can i have it replaced or repaired. This ironwas used less than a dozen times. I love it but it just wont work anymore. Thanks
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Regina
Japan
Mar 6, 2012
4 Star Rating
Good While It Lasted
I had a good experience with my iron! I loved it! It heated up really quickly, I liked that I was able to adjust the temperature, and I loved that it wasn't that heavy or bulky. I am mixed Japanese/Black and have LOTS of really curly, fine hair. I started out using a CHI but switched to PM Smoothing iron. I like it better than the CHI. I took off a star because I dropped it about 2 feet from my dresser and it just stopped working... at a really inopportune time might I add. I really needed it and I won't have a flat iron for a big event I have coming up. I ordered the Sedu Pro Ionic Ceramic Tourmaline Flat Iron from this site and I'm waiting for it to arrive in Japan. I'm hoping it will last me longer than my PM which I've had for 3 years. At least it lasted longer than the 3 CHI's i've owned in the past... they lasted 2 years tops. (I do use my iron everyday though...)
I will say though, that the PM Smoothing iron doesn't really hold up in high humidity. My hair frizzed easily even with the products I use to prevent frizz and to protect my hair from the heat. I even have my hair texture controlled so yeah...

Looking forward to getting the SEDU and seeing how that compares to the other brands I've owned!
7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Kim
Sep 24, 2011
5 Star Rating
Love <3
Absolutely AMAZING. I have difficult hair and this was the first one ever used in a salon that got my hair completely straight. I bought one and have used it for 5 yrs! It's finally starting to crap out on me after that long and I'm so sad :-( But ABSOLUTELY feel confident in this purchase. I straighten my hair 2-3 times a week and my hair still looks healthy and glossy. Easy to curl and flip too. I can't say enough good things about this iron!
4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Beatrice C.
Utah
May 5, 2011
5 Star Rating
Best Flat Iron Ever!!
I have never owned anything better then this pm flat iron! i had it for about 5 years and just barley died on my idk know how or why it worked fine one day the next day it would not turn on or heat up. i want exactly this same iron again but cant find it anywhere ive settled for another paul mitched iron but to be honest it sucks cause its bulkier. i loved how flat this one ones and ive never had more perfect culed hair. it was awesome for culing hair quick and simply. please let me know how i can get this again!
5 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Krista C.
Jan 31, 2011
5 Star Rating
Love <3
I have had this Flat Iron since I was 16 im not 21 almost 22. My mom bought it for me for my sweet 16. It was my 1st flat iron and I have never used another one :).. This iron is my best friend for my hair. I keep it in a case and I take it every time I leave my house for an over night trip or even a vacation. I really don't know what I would do with out this Flat Iron, my hair is frizzy and wavy and this flat iron makes my hair so smooth and straight!!! So sad to see I cant get another one for friends/ family..
6 out of 6 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Judy
Dec 24, 2010
5 Star Rating
The Best Flat Iron Ever!!
I loved this flat iron !! Had it forever and one day I dropped it and it was in two pieces ugh! What compares to this flat iron. I see it is now discontinued :( It never pulled your hair and made it shine. anyone have suggestions??
3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Felicia
May 28, 2010
5 Star Rating
I loved my paul mitchell flat iron... I had it for 5 wonderful years and it was the only flat iron that actually made my frizzy hair look naturally straight.. im looking for a new one since i had an accident and drop it on the floor... it was a sad day for me.. I actually cried, I REALLY want the same one,but it seems i cant find it anywhere... PLEASE if anyone knows of any like this let me know!
15 out of 17 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
1 2 3 20
Server Name