John Frieda Smooth & Shine Sleek Finish Flat Iron

We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
John Frieda Smooth & Shine Sleek Finish Flat Iron features 1 inch extra-long ceramic titanium coated straightening plates, for a smooth and sleek finish.


Based on 9 Reviews

Angel M.
Bellevue Ky
May 28, 2015
5 Star Rating
Disappointed And Without A Flat Iron :(
I agree with temp being in wrong spot however I loved it . My hair was straight and sleek when I finished and have curly hair , however it stopped working after 6months ???? WTH. It was a gift so can't send it back or exchange it . VERY DISAPPOINTED!!
Jul 15, 2014
2 Star Rating
Flat Iron
Major design flaw as described by the other reviewers. Wondering if this flat iron was user guessing it was not because, like the others, I've found the on/off and temperature controls are totally in the wrong spot. Pity. I too wish I could return it to Walmart. Would not buy it if I had a do over. Would not recommend it.
Sabra L.
Jan 10, 2014
1 Star Rating
I Hate This Straightner
This straightener is awful! First of all the on and off switch is in a crazy location and gets turned off by accident if you hold it wrong. And second it just does not work!! My hair looks the same after I use it as it did before I even started. This is the worst straightener I have ever purchased. I will definitely be going back to my old brand of BaByliss PRO Nano Titanium 1 1/4" Straightening Iron. After several years of use it finally tore up and I was trying to save some money by buying a cheaper one at Walmart. Do not by the John Frieda hair straightener it sucks!!!
Oct 9, 2013
2 Star Rating
Flat Iron Flop
I am very disappointed in this flat iron. The on/off switch, and the temperature settings
are in an awkward spot therefore it tuns off and/ or the temperature setting goes lower or higher when it wants to. If I could return, I would. I do not intend to purchase another John Frieda product.
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
May 29, 2013
1 Star Rating
Experts In Hair Care?? Not This Time!!
If it weren't for the shoddy design concept of this flat iron, it would receive a much higher rating. As it is, it really only deserves half of a star.

Pros: The flat iron gets really hot and straightens hair well


Obviously whoever designed this flat iron has either A.) Never used a flat iron before in their life or B.) Has no concept whatsoever of how a flat iron actually works.

The power and temperature buttons on the outside of the straightener were a HORRIBLE idea. When a person is flat ironing their hair, their thumb goes directly where the button is placed, which in turn causes the person to accidentally hit that button during the straightening process. I find myself constantly having to check and re-check the temp on my flat iron because I am always turning it down or completely OFF on accident while trying to straighten my hair.

Were it not for the horrible design concept, this flat iron would have received 5 Stars from me, but the constant hassle of accidentally hitting the power and temp buttons while trying to straighten my hair, is enough of a hassle to give it the low rating it received.

John Frieda needs to get back to the drawing board on this one, and this time have someone who actually knows how to use a flat iron design it!
2 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Aug 5, 2012
1 Star Rating
Iron Tuns Off When Using It!!!
This iron is hard to handle as when you go to use it the temperature turns down. I wish i could get my money back and purchase one that does not interfer with using it!
7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Brittney T.
May 5, 2012
3 Star Rating
Burning My Hand
the setting is very easy to change and I have also burn my hand but I now hold my thumb on the setting window to avoid that .the heat is good my hair is very course so i set it on 455 it gets the job done
7 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Jan 18, 2012
1 Star Rating
What? 450 Degrees
The temperature button is on the handle. I have fine hair and had it set on 290 degrees. Without knowing that I had changed the temperature, I continued to straighten my hair. After working through sections, I began to see a difference in the texture of my hair. I examined the flat iron to see if I hit a setting. Boy, did I hit a setting. The temperature was now on 450 and the last section of my hair was fried. The temperature button does not need to be on the handle unless you can "lock in" the desire temperature.
8 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Heather D.
Dec 26, 2011
1 Star Rating
Not Good..
13 out of 15 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Server Name