Satin Smooth Calendula Gold Hard Wax

$14.99
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
Formulated with enriched extracts from the Calendula flower and the Tea Tree plant, which calm and soothe the skin and prevent inflammation.

Reviews 

Based on 34 Reviews

1 2 3 4
Kathy E.
Midwest
Oct 3, 2012
5 Star Rating
Gives A Softer Touch To Facial Waxing!
I have been on a search for a bulk wax that is softer and gentler on facial waxing. I read the previous reviews and decided to try it. It is lighter and works as expected.
Lexy H.
Bay Area
Sep 27, 2011
5 Star Rating
Awesome Underarm Wax For Self!
Okay, so I never, ever do my own underarms because I obviously can not hold my skin taught while peeling at the same time...but, man I have to tell you, I got no hickey's or red marks!
I love, love, love this wax!
I am now able to wax myself without help!
Im going to try to do my own brazilian now see if this is a winner too for that!
Cynthia W.
Marietta
Jun 22, 2011
1 Star Rating
Way Too Stringy, No Customer Support
I love using hard wax on my clients & they love it too. However this product is way too stringy & gets all over the wax pot, my hands, & the client. When I called the company to find out why this was happening or if I was doing something wrong I was referred to the manufacturer. Surprisingly it is ConAir a very large corporation selling mostly electronics... When I tried to talk to the Customer Service Agent she had no idea about wax, said she couldn't help me without a model number (I looked all over the can for one & there is NO model number on the can of wax). I thought Satin Smooth was a waxing company & I was very disappointed not to be able to speck to someone who knew something about waxing. My problem was never solved. I will not be buying this product again.
6 out of 7 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Nk
Jun 2, 2011
3 Star Rating
Takes More Practice Than I'm Willing To Give
This hard wax works great--if you know what you're doing. I went through 1 can of it, trying to learn the technique, and sort of figured it out, but very hit or miss.

It's different than honey wax or sugar wax, in that you apply a thick layer, and then another layer on top (according to videos I watched of the technique), then wait a bit for it to dry, flip up an edge, and pull off the whole wax strip.

If it's too hot, or not hot enough, or if you spread it too thinly at the edges, or if the room is too cold...etc. if many variables, then you wont get a good result. Sometimes, the wax would break into chunks as I pulled it off, as it became too brittle to stay in one strip. Sometimes, I would spread the edges too thin, so that I could tear off the center portion, but still have plastic-y wax adhered to my skin all over from the edges. And chunks of dried wax all over the floor, etc. I really wasn't that good at it.

However, on the applications I got right, I would say hard wax is definitely less painful than soft, and I don't really even find soft wax painful on most areas.

I'd say, if you want to learn, and practice, this is a good product--or if you are a pro. And if you have a bad reaction to soft wax, try this instead. It does seem more gentle. As it dries a bit, you can feel the wax pull away from your skin--it doesn't stick to your skin, only to the hair.

I didn't like the smell, but it didn't bother me.
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Allyn
Texas
Jan 29, 2011
5 Star Rating
Love It :)
I absolutely hate soft wax it is so incredibly sticky and messy and not effective and ugh just no! Now hard wax is just wonderful :) You do have to leave it in the warmer longer than it says I left it on the warmer for an hour and it was ready to go. It did hurt a bit to pull it off but I put baby powder before and then the wax and then baby powder again on top and it came off very easily it just takes practice. I would recommend to anyone! Never going back to soft wax ever.
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Lynn S.
Arizona
Jan 19, 2011
4 Star Rating
Good Wax For The Price
I am a licensed skin therapist although not practicing at this time. I still do my own waxing and have found that this hard wax is the best one for bikinis. I have stubborn hair and need a good wax. I have tried other waxes but this one is the best for the accessibility and the price. the shipping was quick.
1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Tara
Dec 20, 2010
1 Star Rating
Soft Wax Is Easier To Use
I've been using the soft wax for a few months and I love it. This product had such great reviews that I figured I had to try it as a wax-addict! I found it way too difficult to work with. I put it in the warmer on medium for nearly 2 hours and it STILL wasn't melted, even though the directions say 30 minutes. When you use it, you have to make sure you have the temperature just right when you pull it off or it will break and become too brittle to do anything. SUCH a pain! I like how fast and easy the soft wax is (even if it is sticky). So, I guess I'm back to the epilating strips. This product was way too time consuming to be worth it.
2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Shelly
Maryland
Nov 19, 2010
4 Star Rating
Just Saved 65 Bucks!
So...waxing is definitely not for the faint at heart. But with that said, either I have a really high tolerance for pain or this product works pretty great. The bottom line is that this wax didn't pull at the skin, wasn't too painful, and saved me 65 bucks.
1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Lynn
Apr 16, 2010
4 Star Rating
Easy
I haven't had a professional wax, but was very tired of shaving, so bought this, read up how to do it on the internet, and voila! I haven't shaved under my arms for over a week and I love it! I did my legs and bikini area also. It said on the internet to put some oil on first, so I used olive oil, which is great for your skin anyway, and didn't have any trouble with it sticking to my skin. The underarm area was the most sensitive, but not a big deal.I got a little crock pot from a thrift store to heat it up and it worked perfectly. Great stuff!
4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
J
Mar 30, 2010
2 Star Rating
Not That Good
it takes a looooong time to melt, not easy to apply, and it does contrary to most of the reviews hurt to pull it off, and on top of that it missed too many of the hairs! The worst part--- could not get all the sticky residue off----for days, left my skin irritated and itchy! Yuck, yuck! Would never recommend to anyone.
5 out of 8 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
1 2 3 4
Server Name