Splat Rebellious Colors Hair Coloring Kit

We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
Splat Rebellious Colors Hair Coloring Kit creates a Splat of Rebellious Color!...Be expressive, be shocking, be extreme! The possibilities are endless!


Based on 116 Reviews

1 5 6 7 12
Jun 6, 2012
5 Star Rating
Why All The Hate?
I'm honestly surprised to see all the negative reviews for this product, because Lusty Lavender worked wonders for me. I'm one of those people who hates bleaching with a passion, so I'm always looking for semi-permanent purple hair dye that will at least leave a nice tint on dark brown hair. I've tried Manic Panic's Purple Haze, and Special Effects Burgundy Wine and Deep Purple. Manic panic didn't do a thing, and Special Effects looked nice, but didn't last long at all. This stuff seriously works though and lasts for an incredibly long time (6 weeks so far,) if you actually know what you're doing. Not only does the color actually show up on my dark hair, but it's incredibly vibrant compared to the other brands. I left it in for about 5-6 hours, which is something I would highly suggest if you're dyeing without bleaching. There's no developer in the dye, so you can leave it as long as you want. It is FAR messier than anything I've used, but really... This is hair dye, people. It's going to be messy, and it's going to stain. Cover your bathroom counter with an old towel or cut up some old plastic grocery bags and spread them out. Wear clothes you don't care about. USE PETROLEUM JELLY AROUND YOUR HAIR LINE! This stuff sticks to skin like you won't believe, which is the sign of a WONDERFUL hair dye. When you rinse it out, use cold water to seal it in. Generally you'll always see a bit of color go down the drain if you wash with hot water, even weeks after dying, but it still lasts for ages. Really though, you need to have realistic expectations. This isn't a good dye for people who haven't dyed before because it's so messy, and can stain the skin for up to a week if you're not careful. If you're experienced, or have other people to help, then this really is a good choice.
62 out of 65 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Cassandra M.
Jun 5, 2012
1 Star Rating
This Stuff Is Crap
25 out of 30 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
Judith L.
Richmond, VA
Jun 2, 2012
3 Star Rating
Just... Average
Of all the dyes that I have tried, this one comes in just about average. I have used both the blue and the purple on different occasions, and while they will give you a blue-ish or purple-ish color (respectively), they really don't blow me away. The good: - You can find Splat at your local convenience/drug store. I've found Splat at Walgreens, CVS, Walmart, etc. This brand is not hard to come by. - It also isn't too expensive at about $10 per kit. If you have longer or thicker hair, you're going to need more than one kit. - It does give your hair color. I will expand on this in the "bad" section". - The dye smells good. It's not that gross smelling product that you might get from a typical hair dye. - The dye is not very runny. This stuff is thick and concentrated. The bad: - This dye doesn't last as long as other ones. - The colors are not true to box. The purple comes out more of a pink/magenta/pink/purple. - The blue comes out pretty dark at first, then will eventually fade. Mine faded to this weird faded blue-grey with hints of purple color. The ugly: - This stuff stains everything. Clothes, towels, skin, tubs/showers, etc. Wear gloves, have alcohol wipes, use pet. jelly on the skin around your hair line, use an old shirt, and have some bleach so you can clean your tub.
14 out of 18 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
May 18, 2012
3 Star Rating
What Can Happen
Im in the 6th grade today was the last day of school and my friend tryed to dye her hair blue some of it was blue and most of it was green and i got the pink last week but now im re thinking dyeing my hair !!!
32 out of 35 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
Krystal W.
United States
Apr 28, 2012
1 Star Rating
This Crap Wont Come Out!!!!!
So I used the red. It was BEAUTIFUL! But I quickly grew tired of it. I decided to go back to my natural blonde. Blonde dye did nothing, oops did nothing, bleaching took it down some but there is still a TON of this red in my hair!!! I can't get it out & it's driving me insane!!! I'm on bleach session number 2 as I type this, I hope this time it freaking works!!! For such a "temporary" dye it sure does like my hair and doesn't want to let go! ugggh
12 out of 21 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
Samantha B.
Apr 23, 2012
1 Star Rating
Never Again
I have natural golden blonde hair, so I didn't bleach my hair because there was no need for it. I wanted to put some purple streaks in my hair. Well, after a week they faded to hot pink. It's been almost 3 weeks now and the color won't come out. I've tried dying over it and bleaching it. Neither works. I'll never use SPLAT again. It's the worst hair color I've ever used.
10 out of 18 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
Megan M.
Apr 15, 2012
1 Star Rating
Not Happy
I have natural blonde hair, so I didn't use the bleach. Heck, I didn't need to! I did as directed for the colored part. I saturated my hair, put it under a shower cap, and also put on my heated cap on the highest setting. I left it on for half an hour and rinsed until the water ran clear, then shampooed. My hair dried and, while my scalp was bright purple, my hair was the exact same color I started with. This stuff is junk. I even tried it again.
4 out of 8 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Apr 1, 2012
1 Star Rating
Half Dyed Hair
I was using this product in an attempt to get a real nice dark red for comiccon later in the year. Dyed up my hair last night, and the red just got everywhere, after it dried anything it touched turned pink! It ruined my clothes and blankets, and stained my keyboard after running my fingers through my hair and not noticing the dye on my hands. My hands are now an odd pink in places from touching my hair. I used the washable product that was supposed to come out with shampoo, and it did, however only HALF of it did. The bottom part of my hair is an awful faded pink, and the top is the natural brown. I washed it 15 times now, and it isn't fading. I don't know how long it will last, but I couldn't be more disappointed.
10 out of 12 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Mar 5, 2012
1 Star Rating
I'm Going Back To Manic Panic
I have dyed my hair blues and reds and purples for years and used manic panic and fudge colours among others, but hadn't dyed my hair in about 6 months due to travelling. When I spotted a Splat multi colour kit in my favourite colours, I thought "Awesome! No more buying 4 kits to do my hair."

Prior to using this kit, my hair was undyed, unbleached, untreated dark natural blonde. The only products used on it were the colours in the kit and the instructions were followed to the letter.

The first thing I noticed; if your hair is longer than a short bob, get two packs. The bleach included in the kit was fantastic with comparitively little breakage or jelly-hair, but there just wasn't enough of it for my fine, slightly longer than shoulder-length hair.

After applying the colours, I'm considering demanding my money back. The "Kelly's Blue" stuck the best, turning various shades between dark blue on my scalp and pastel blue to washed out green on my hair. The purple only stuck to my skin, absolutely none of it stayed in my hair. At all. I have very visible dark purple patches on my scalp though, under the bright white hair it was supposed to be purple. Where the red stuck, it's a pastel pink, and that's not in very many places at all. Somehow, there are also orange patches that weren't there before applying the colours, and I have no idea where they came from.

I'm utterly disgusted with the product's performance, and the "extreme - shocking - expressive" and "extreme intense shocking colour" promised on the pack appear to be a complete lie. On top of this, for the first time in my life (I have been colouring my hair these kinds of colours for 15 years) I had a slight allergic reaction to the product.

If you see this product on the shelf, the only advice I can give in good conscience is to stay well away.
9 out of 13 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Steffani K.
United States
Feb 26, 2012
1 Star Rating
Blue Envy.....yeah Okay
I used Splat Blue Envy on the underneath part of my hair (that i previously dyed light blonde) & left it on the time given, washed it out & MY HAIR WAS UGLY PALE GREEN. I cannot get it out & will not ruin my hair by trying to strip it, nor do i think it will work. My advice to you; just dont.
8 out of 13 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
1 5 6 7 12
Server Name