one 'n only Colorfix

$22.95 $18.95
Save 17%
In Stock
Ships within 24 hours
Removes unwanted permanent hair color. Controlled usage allows color correction to specific areas. Designed for full or slight color corrections.

Reviews 

Based on 491 Reviews

1 2 3 50
Amber
Mar 20, 2014
5 Star Rating
From Black Dye Mishap To Caramel Med Brown, Colorfix Works!
FIRST,
I have terribly porous hair from over 20years of coloring. I'm a natural brunette... with about 50%grey.

So, I went to get my roots touched up... told the stylist less red and to be careful because my porous hair sucks up dark pigment like a desert cactus does rain water. Well, he went with a level 4 and my hair took it like a 2. Terribly dark... and I looked awful.
I have had this happen before... but I didn't want to get it bleached out this time. I read reviews for color fix, color oops... and decided on colorfix! it works!

All the reviews, nearly, said to eliminate the final step, step 3, but I read up on it and found if you eliminate it your hair will go back to the dark state you're trying to undo as soon as you color it.

So, I did use step 3. And my black hair was orange and brassy before step 3 and after a beautiful caramel brown. I rinsed my hair for 10minutes. Shampooed it 4times with sulfate shampoo before applying developer to towel dried hair.
Worked like a charm.

I have curly hair, so it tends to run on the dry side, and colorfix did not ruin my hair. I did do an intense conditioning treatment after final rinse and subsequent shampoo. Then I used a liberal amount of olive oil and shower cap that same night... to bed. My hair is great now. I have not tried to color over it... because I love my color fix results! But I did buy a protein filler to apply before next coloring... to ensure even color and hopeful less porous grab of dark tones!

I hope this helps!
Bessa
Aug 15, 2013
4 Star Rating
Brilliant!!!
So about two years ago, I got light highlights sparsely in my hair around june, come august time to touch up, however my stylist made my hair almost all blondee as opposed to doing just the roots! two months later roots growing out, was sick of the highlights, had a wedding in less than a week. took the cheap alternative and box dyed it. LOVED the color that came out. two months later got sick of it and went darker at the salon but the color was fading so fast and my highlights were seeping through. got a box color and dyed it darker. about six months later went even darker almost black. my sisters hateddd the look on me and got it into my head so out of anger i went to the store and bought a much lighter boxed color. low and behold my roots turned almost blonde (my virgin hair) but the rest was darkk still. after extensive washing, i tried color oops. and then redyed it. again the roots were lighter than the rest. bought color oops again two days later, used it, then colored just my roots a darker shade. with a few washes and being in the sun, my roots again got muchhh lighter than the rest of my hair. now its gotten to the point where i dont wear my hair down anymore.
SO, i googled some more and found COLORFIX. i literally just finished using it. my hair is lightt brownish blonde. i did the ends first and then the roots since they were lighter to begin with. i rinsed washed and conditioned. then i saw that my roots were still a little bit lighter than the rest. at first i wasnt gonna use step three because of all the other reviews said it darkened the hair. so i used it justtt on my roots to even it out and it looks fantasticcc. couldnt be more happier. colorfix is def a greatt way to go.. my hair is a little bit lighter than i wanted it to but i didnt wanna use step 3 and start back at square one, so im hoping itll just darken in the next couple of says as it did with everyone else. overall HAPPY
4 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Bessa
Aug 15, 2013
4 Star Rating
Brilliant!!!
So about two years ago, I got light highlights sparsely in my hair around june, come august time to touch up, however my stylist made my hair almost all blondee as opposed to doing just the roots! two months later roots growing out, was sick of the highlights, had a wedding in less than a week. took the cheap alternative and box dyed it. LOVED the color that came out. two months later got sick of it and went darker at the salon but the color was fading so fast and my highlights were seeping through. got a box color and dyed it darker. about six months later went even darker almost black. my sisters hateddd the look on me and got it into my head so out of anger i went to the store and bought a much lighter boxed color. low and behold my roots turned almost blonde (my virgin hair) but the rest was darkk still. after extensive washing, i tried color oops. and then redyed it. again the roots were lighter than the rest. bought color oops again two days later, used it, then colored just my roots a darker shade. with a few washes and being in the sun, my roots again got muchhh lighter than the rest of my hair. now its gotten to the point where i dont wear my hair down anymore.
SO, i googled some more and found COLORFIX. i literally just finished using it. my hair is lightt brownish blonde. i did the ends first and then the roots since they were lighter to begin with. i rinsed washed and conditioned. then i saw that my roots were still a little bit lighter than the rest. at first i wasnt gonna use step three because of all the other reviews said it darkened the hair. so i used it justtt on my roots to even it out and it looks fantasticcc. couldnt be more happier. colorfix is def a greatt way to go.. my hair is a little bit lighter than i wanted it to but i didnt wanna use step 3 and start back at square one, so im hoping itll just darken in the next couple of says as it did with everyone else. overall HAPPY
Lexi
So Cal
Aug 8, 2013
5 Star Rating
Works Wonders!
Ok, so I had been researching hair color removers for months, and I was really scared. So I went into Sally's and they reccomended this. I was really scared, it sat in my closet for days... So I finally tested it on the bottom portion of my hair, about an inch off my hairline, it smells bad, yes, but once you wash it out, and see that the dark is off your hair, the smell doesn't matter! I had dyed my hair, BLACK, for about 3 years, so I was really concerned that nothing would work, but this thing worked, I followed the directions and bam, there was no black on sight. Would definately reccomend this product to all my family and friends.
11 out of 11 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Jamie S.
United States
Jul 15, 2013
2 Star Rating
Horrendous Smell
This stuff is pretty gentle - it lifted my color from a dark reddish brown to a dark orangey-brown, and I was able to successfully dye it over with a nice light ash. However, it smells SO BAD. I have washed it six times in the past three days and gone swimming as well - I cannot get rid of this stench. Does the smell ever go away? I'm about to cut my hair off so I don't have to smell this any longer. Does anyone out there know how to remove this scent?
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Sylvia
Jun 16, 2013
3 Star Rating
Ok So Far (will Update)
I want to mention first that I spent several days reading and watching reviews on Color Fix and it seems to be about 50/50 with positive/ negative reviews. I really wanted my hair back to a medium ash brown (which became black from years and layers upon layers of dying it brown) It got so dark because instead of just doing my roots, I was doing all of my hair everytime I dyed! I will never do that again! So I finally decided to give Color Fix a try to save my way overdyed hair from being stripped away with bleach at the salon. I did one whole box yesterday, (btw i have ALOT of hair!) And one box got a lot of the black out but I needed to do it again,so today I did another full box...oh, and both times I skipped step 3 because people are saying the peroxide fried their hair and made it back to dark. My hair is quite dry after doing just step 1 and 2 twice and its also very red now. But so far, the black is gone! Now I am a bit nervous, because I keep reading reviews about how if you skip step 3, after a few days your hair can darken again or become unpredictable if you wish to re-dye (which I do want to soon) so now I'm not sure what to do. I suppose I can bear with this reddish color for a few days before I re-dye to medium ash brown, then I will let you all know what happens when I do. Hopefully it will not darken! And YES this stuff stinks! But if I can fix my hair how I want it to be, it's a small stinky price to pay!
Lauren
May 12, 2013
1 Star Rating
Omg Don't Buy This!
I have naturally brown hair, and I have died it darker which was a dumb idea. I bought this product along with my friend, and we both tried this on our hair...Well it turned hers orange and it turned my hair red (even after doing it 3 times). Not only was it not even close to my natural hair color.... It also has made my hair permanently rubbery all over my hair and I am not able to brush it without it falling out!!!! My friends did the same thing, just not as bad.. I would never recommend this to anyone! Four months later with hundreds of dollars of conditioners that I have bought, and still rubber hair :((
23 out of 27 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
Micke
Ontario
Apr 13, 2013
5 Star Rating
Amazing Product! Took Me From Deep Dark Red To Caramel!
I left it on my hair for an hour with a plastic bag over top, and a towel wrapped over top the plastic bag. I used a blowdryer every 20 min for 3 minutes to add heat.

I rinsed for 20 straight minutes, shampooed with a clarifying shampoo with a tbsp of baking soda 3 times. I then put an Ion Brilliance conditoner pack on it for 10 min. I rinsed and rinsed some more.

the end result was an orangey puke color. I re-applied and let sit on my hair for another 45 min, using heat here and there. I repeated my rinsing for 20 minutes and 3 shampoos, and lots of conditioner. I then blow dried and the result was a caramel looking color with some orange tones. I applied the processing lotion (which is so important, its crazy not to use it!) for 5 minutes and rinsed. the result was a lighter caramel with less orange tones.

It smelled gross..pretty unbearable really. But after rinsing and lots of shampoo with baking soda(natural odor eliminator) it didnt smell bad at all. only when its wet i can smell it faintly(i used it a few days prior to this review).

All in all, its a fantastic product. I highly recommend it!

Ps- if you dont rinse well enough, your hair will darken with the processing lotion. It is very important to rinse and rinse and rinse. also very important to use the processor. if you dont, you are leaving your hair cuticle open and when you go to dye it, it could be very unpredictable. You could end up with really really crazy bad hair. PLEASE use the processing lotion and dont be scared. just make sure you rinse thouroughly and shampoo repeatedly before using it.

18 out of 19 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Paula H.
United States
Apr 4, 2013
5 Star Rating
Color Fix Works (for Me)
i have pixie short hair strw blonde natural and i tried a dark mahogany red which after a week or 2 started to look coppery so i color fixed it and it took out the dye. how ever that was the only layer of dye i had on my hair and its short .people who have trouble with color correction at home is because we dye our hair alot with different shades alot. i would suggest that if you have long hair and or have been dying it for years to get a proffesional opinion i am not a hair dresser but i have also had my share of mistakes .the product works but you have to consider all the dye on your head and the length and thickness .
4 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Lucy B.
California
Apr 3, 2013
1 Star Rating
This Product Is Horrible Do Not Waste Your Money Trust Me!
i bought this on sallys it was 15 dollars. I have very dark ash brown hair almost black. I ombred my hair at a salon but hated how yellow it was and dyed it a "darkes brown shade" after a month i felt like giving the ombre another try and wanted to remove the dye i had so i can go back to the "ombre bleach stage" of my hair so that i could tone it the color i wanted it. I got this thing and it did nothing!!!!! nothing at all i followed all the instructions and all that and it just faded some little pieces of my hair to a brown but nothing more and i didnt use the 3 step thingie. Oh and now i think its back to darkest brown does little pieces that faded to a lighter brown. It doesnt work! and i dont understand how it does work for some people.
12 out of 14 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
1 2 3 50
Server Name