Redken Smooth Down Butter Treatment

We're sorry, Redken has not authorized Folica to sell this product.


Email Redken

Visit Redken Site

Smooth Down Butter Treat smoothing treatment is a rich, luscious rinse-out cream that provides intense smoothing, long-lasting conditioning, nourishment and control. Redkenâ??s exclusive Interbond Conditioning System delivers a unique Ionic Smoothing Complex of macadamia oil, candelila wax and cationic refiners to help replenish oils, provide intense smoothing and a long-lasting, frizz-free finish.

Reviews 

Based on 21 Reviews

1 2 3
Samone
Jan 7, 2013
5 Star Rating
Amazing Product
It's very important that you know what it is that your hair is missing. I am biracial.. and i use to hate my hair.. but i use the Wen Treatment which is amazing... but also when i wash my hair i use Redken Butter Down Treatment I mix it with my Wen shampoo and let it sit for an hour with a shower cap on to lock in the heat or you can sit under a dryer if you have one. If i am in a hurry then i just let it sit on my hair for most of my shower. I will rinse it out it smells and feels great. I also will add jus a lil bit of redken and alil wen together and mix it thru my towel dried hair. It calms my frizz and most importantly it has made me ditch the perms and made my 2 year natural hair process that much easier! I can tame my flyaways and my hair is growing faster than it was.. still watch how much heat you use. Using Wen helps deep condition the hair when you color it and wont strip your color. Using both products also protect your hair from alot of damage when you do use heat. Good luck ladies this is a great product and go check on WEN!!
Marz
Toronto
Mar 9, 2011
3 Star Rating
Didn't Do Anything For My Hair
I had such high hopes for this product after reading all the great reviews on folica and on the web.
I used this for hte first time after shampooing and lightly towel drying my hair. I left it in for a good 8 minutes before rinsing it out. And it did nothing. Smelled great, but didn't work to soften my hair at all. My hair was just as unmanageable as before. Very disapointing. I will keep using this until it finishes but I will not be repurchasing.
Mo
Los Angeles
Feb 1, 2011
5 Star Rating
Thick And Rich
I love this treatment. Excellent stuff and great for the price. I was using and paying for stuff that cost 3 times more before a friend recommended it to me and let me try some of hers. Results were the same plus I liked how this smelled much better.

I normally use this as a conditioner every two days or so--switching back and forth between drugstore brand stuff. I only put on enough to cover the bottom half of my hair where it needs it most. When my hair feels super extra dry, I use it as a treatment by piling it on and leaving it in my hair for the entire time I'm in the shower. I make sure the shower is nice and hot so there's lots of steam. The Smooth Down Butter is thick, rich, super moisturizing, and smells great too. My hair feels silky and smooth after use and even more so when after the steam session. If I feel like I need a boost of additional moisture before styling, I use a pea size dollop and work it through towel-dried hair before blow-drying.
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Sarah
Jun 17, 2010
4 Star Rating
Its A Great Moisturizer
This product really moisturized my dry split end damaged hair and defined my curls well even though my hair is chemically straighten
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Julia
California
Mar 24, 2010
4 Star Rating
Good Product. Worth The Money
Good product, conditions, moistureizes, repairs, replenishes, smooths and reviels beautiful silky smooth hair. Should only be used once maybe twice a week. Any more then that will cause build up and will defeat the purpose.
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Tracey
Hendersonville,NC
Dec 30, 2009
5 Star Rating
Best Conditioner
I Love this product. I use it as a leave in conditioner' only using a dime size amount after my hair is dry. I cannot give this product enough rave. It is worth the money :)
1 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Nomoredryhair
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 27, 2009
4 Star Rating
Great For Curly Dry Hair
Ive been trying different conditioners on my hair to deep condition and give it a noticeably soft feel. I have to admit, the best conditioner Ive come across so far is the Redken Smooth Down Butter Treatment - after the first time trying it I noticed my hair felt a lot softer than usual (I have naturally curly hair which I always wear straight - so my hair has DEFINITELY suffered from the heat products I use to straighten it). My hair does not frizz up as much as it did before (I wore my hair out on a drizzly day - which is usually frizz time for my hair - and it maintained its straight look all day, which is incredible). Im not too crazy about the conditioners smell, and the price is a little steep, but all in all I was very happy with the results.
2 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Jill
Florida
Sep 4, 2008
5 Star Rating
From Hay To Heaven!
My 16 year old daughters hair felt like brittle straw and we thought we would have to get her long hair cut off because of damage from her flat iron. A friend who was visiting from out of town had Redken Smooth Down Butter Treatment with her and told my daughter she should try this first. Her hair now is smooth and soft. Redken Smooth Down Butter Treatment is the best thing we have ever tried and we will never be with out it again!
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Marie
NY
Jul 3, 2008
4 Star Rating
Pretty Good
I have thick coarse hair, this tamed it fairly well.
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Gaby
Mar 4, 2008
4 Star Rating
Great Daily Conditioner For Dry, Damaged Hair
My thick hair is highlighted, which makes it very dry. It gets tangled very quickly and I used to use a large handful of conditioner every day in the shower. Even with the thicker or smoothing versions of Pantene and conditioners like that, I needed to use a lot and would go through it fast. With this conditioner, I only need a drop. A dime size will coat my waist-length hair. I use it every time I wash my hair, and my hair is definitely healthier for it, and I only have to replace it once a month or every 2 months.
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
1 2 3
Server Name