Mason Pearson Bristle & Nylon Brush Handy Size

$150.00
Free Shipping
Order now
Ships 11/07/2014
A handy size (8-1/2"x2-1/2") bristle and nylon mixed brush that has 6 rings of stiff bristle and nylon mixed tufts. Recommended for use on normal hair.

Reviews 

Based on 16 Reviews

1 2
Catherine S.
Oregon....on The Bay
Apr 13, 2014
5 Star Rating
Necessity Has No Age!
I had this brush purchased for twenty dollars in 1980 by my ex-husband, a railroad engineer. Well, it is 2014 and two husbands later I still use this brush. Well,it finally started dropping boar bristles then white plastic hairs and looked and felt pretty ratty after thirty some years so I paid $135.00 today, for a new one! That is a brush worth its weight in gold!
Allie M.
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2014
5 Star Rating
You Need This Brush...
So, It took me about 3 years to finally bite the bullet and spend 150 on a BRUSH. Seriously? A BRUSH? Honestly, looking at all my hair purchases, I could've not bought $150 worth of product and moved to this. The second day of use, my friend was petting my hair, and she is NOT one to do that. I also LOVE the way it feels on my scalp! It also allows me to let my hair air dry without becoming a big frizzy afro!!!

About 6 months ago, I bleached off my hair. It burned and fell off at the roots and I've had a hard time with it looking healthy. A few strokes of the brush, and my hair looks soft and healthy, and feels it too!!!! If someone told me a brush, not a product, could save my hair, I'd say they were crazy, but honestly, this brush is so worth it.

What a great tool, I can't wait to come home nightly and brush my hair, as strange as it sounds. I've read other reviews that it can last up to 15 years with proper care. If you buy this, take care of it, and your hair will thank you for years to come.
Amy R.
United States
Mar 20, 2013
5 Star Rating
This Is More Than A Brush
I heard about the Mason Pearson brush line from a friend who had a travel size. i used the travel size first from her and loved it. After that i went online to read about these brushes because i didn't see why a hair brush should cost 150.00 + dollars. Honestly, it is worth every penny. The mason Pearson line concentrates more on your hair and scalp health. i use it every day morning and night for a few minutes. it really is an amazing hair line. you should check out their website at masonpearson.com It truly is an amazing hair brush!
Marilou
United States
Nov 13, 2012
5 Star Rating
The Best Of All The Hair Brushes!
I had been losing a lot of hair everyday the past years that my hair now is less than half the volume I had 10 years ago. I read some review about boar bristle brushes that it was supposed to be gentle on the hair and scalp. I initially bought the Denman mixed bristle but it doesn't quite reach my scalp so I ended up ordering this. I have highlighted wavy hair that goes 2 inches below my shoulder blade, medium thickness and volume. I wasn't expecting much from this brush though I was still hoping it would do something better on my hair.
The day I received my handy MP I used it at night and the morning before I go to work. As soon as I get off the parking lot I saw my friend and the first thing that she told me was "my hair looks beautiful". I wash my hair every other day and that morning is the non wash day. I had been working in our department for 12 years now and not once I remember somebody told me that my hair is beautiful even when I changed my shampoo to Kerastase ( the best I tried ) or put all these shinning oil on my hair. I stopped using oils on my hair since I got my MP because I don't want to ruin my brush. But this brush make my hair so shiny, soft and tangle free than ever before. I had my MP for two weeks now and every single day I go to work somebody would compliment me about my hair. They even noticed my fading highlights. They think it's beautiful :) My friends would asked me what I had been using on my hair that it looks so " shiny and beautiful ". I told them it's just the MP hair brush. Some of them thinks I'm crazy for paying that much for a hair brush but I love my MP so much that I ordered also the junior size for home ( popular is too big for me, handy is good for my purse ) and I also got the pocket 100% boar for my 4 yr old son.
MP handy is 8 1/2 by 2 1/2. Denman medium mixed bristle is 8 3/8 x 2 3/8. Denman has more boar bristles than MP. Denman barely touches my scalp but MP does perfectly. The pneumatic cushion on MP works very well but not on Denman. Even if you push hard the bristles in to push the cushion inward it would not budge at all. It is the same thing with the Sonia Kashuk hair brush. The cushion is hard. SK shape and amt of bristle is very much identical to MP except for the handle. However SK has a very strong burnt rubber smell that is absent on MP and Denman. Spornette luxury ( large ) the cushion pushes in slightly but not as much as the MP and it has a mild burnt rubber smell. The amount of britsle is the same like MP but the nylon bristle are colored black as opposed to the other 3 mentioned brushes that are white. MP is the most gentle to the scalp, followed by Denman then Spornette ( scratchy but would reach very thick hair ) then SK which has the stiffest nylon bristle hence scratchiest.
Since I started using MP I stopped losing so much hair. Sometimes I would only see 2-4 hair strands on the brush and sometimes not at all. Even in the shower I hardy lose hair now. It was hard to believe this brush actually made a difference but now I believe all the rave reviews. It maybe expensive but it is worth the investment. Very highly recommended.
10 out of 10 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Vic
Jun 2, 2012
2 Star Rating
Not For Densed Hair
I bought this hair brush two years ago and it has been sitting in my drawer for almost two years now. I was excited when I received this brush. the brush itself is shows good quality. However, the bristles are way too short (about 2/3 - 3/4 inch) for someone with lots of hair like mine. While brushing my hair with this brush, the bristles could not reach my scalp that I need to section my hair into 3 or 4 horizontal section which takes a very long time and not effecient to do in the morning. I just think that it did not deliver beause of that.
3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Michele
Staten Island, NY
Mar 28, 2012
5 Star Rating
Lifetime Purchase!
I was introduced to this brush about 6 years ago by my hairdresser. She told me that it was one of the best in her opinion, so I decided to purchase it. From day one I has the best hair days ever. When you use this brush you will never have another bad hair day again. I have wavy hair when it air dries but when i use this brush you would think that I have naturally straight hair. My hair feels smooth and straight and it never gets frizzy or feels damaged. I would highly reccomend this brush to anyone who wants to have staright beautiful hair.
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Lisa
Michigan
Aug 1, 2011
5 Star Rating
Everything I Expected And More!!!!
I really debated over whether to buy a Mason Pearson brush. I heard good things about them but wasn't sure if it would be worth it since they are so expensive. I am so glad I took a chance and bought it. I love it! It really is an amazing brush and nothing else I have used compares to it!!!
1 out of 1 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Razzie
NYC
May 31, 2011
5 Star Rating
Great Brush
This is a great brush. There are similar brushes but none are like this one. It really gets into your scalp, brushes your hair, minimizes dandruff and shines.
3 out of 4 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Carelia
NC
Mar 12, 2011
5 Star Rating
My Lost Love!!!
I have used this brush for more than 10 years, but recently while moving process I lost my brush, trust me..I looked every where and no signs of my beloved brush. One day I read from others reviewers that Sonia Kashuk has the same brush for a lot less, I ran to target and purchased the brush, saddly it was too good to be true. Kashuk brush was hard and horrible, the bristles very cheap made and some shaded right after first try and my scalp could not take one second more from that brush. Ladies..lesson learned. Mason Pearson you are the only one for me. Thanks to Folica.com and their great discount promotions, I purchased the brush again. This time I purchased the handy size mix. I lost the popular large size, but this handy size is big enough to brush my long hair and get rid of the tangles that snick around my neck. (see pic for size) The quality the same as my old brush, I am glad I ordered a smaller size this time (handy size) saved me $$ and I still get the same smoothing effects than the large one. Ladies you will not regret the purchase of this brush, don't go and buy a Mason Pearson wanna be brush, save your $$ for your real Mason Pearson's fund. For reference, my hair is wavy, medium and long. Mixed bristles works better for me than only board bristles. The nylon bristles take care of my tangles and the board bristles do the smoothing and polishing work.
53 out of 54 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Teresa H.
TN
Sep 23, 2010
5 Star Rating
Love This
This may be the last brush that I buy. Wish I had found this one earlier. Love this brush. Love what it does to my hair.
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
1 2
Server Name