GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set

We're sorry, this product is no longer available.
GHD Limited Edition Scarlet Collection Set features the GHD Gold Professional Styler but with scarlet red plates.


Based on 46 Reviews

1 2 3 4 5
Sep 19, 2016
1 Star Rating
Not For Highly Textured Hair, Poor Quality
I purchased this iron directly from the manufacturer.....I had high expectations for this flat iron. I have naturally curly (3c) hair and go to great lengths to ensure proper moisture, care and avoid using heat in the form of appliances. Recently decided to straighten my hair and found this iron did not offer the superior performance the website declares: "Smoother gold plates glide effortlessly through the hair to make straightening on all hair types and lengths even quicker and easier, while their contoured edges help to create perfect curls and waves, all with a high shine, salon-style finish". Yeah....the above claims were not what I experienced. I haven't used heat on my hair in two years with no chemicals (henna, dye, relaxers, keratin, etc.) in five years. My hair is VERY healthy. The above quoted claim states this iron works well on ANY hair type. Not the case for me....Maybe this iron is better for naturally straight hair. Any company that can state this claim...Good for ANY hair type....has A LOT to learn!! This iron is DEFINITELY NOT GOOD FOR ANY HAIR TYPE! This is VERY evident in the reviews from people with (highly) textured hair....they ALL say this iron did not deliver the claims they state it will on their website. Highly textured hair people PLEASE keep searching as this iron will not give you the desired results you seek, let alone the claims stated above, posted on the GHD website. Unless their iron, GHD, is INTUITIVE and can tell the difference between different hair types and can adjust it's abilities to an INDIVIDUAL’S hair type (because we are Not ALL the SAME!), then this claim, Good for all hair types, should NO LONGER BE USED BECAUSE IT IS A LIE! I returned this iron and had to pay $12 for shipping. This iron left my hair dry & crispy and the company did not offer anything to help me repair the damage this iron caused!
New York State
Jan 16, 2015
5 Star Rating
Best Hair Purchase Ever
I bought my GHD from Folica back in September 2010. Back then, I didn't know much about irons in general and had been using a CHI for the previous 3 years (which still works to this day as well!). I purchase a Sedu first, which I liked because I could modify the temperature settings, but it didn't give me the absolute pin straight look I wanted. So I returned it to Folica, no questions asked, read tons of reviews like this online and took my chances.
I love this straighter! I've had it since 2010 and it has never failed me yet! Unlike my CHI, there has been no wearing on the plates and it doesn't rip my hair out during use. It's definitely not a "single pass" straightener and can take a little time to get my hair to the straightness I desire but for me it's totally worth it! I have tons of frizzy hair and the GHD makes it look like I was born with beautiful smooth and shinny hair!
I went to turn it on the other day and it just beeped and beeped. I thought 5 years is a good amount of time for any product to last (especially one that I've used faithfully 3 or 4 times a week for years). Turned out it was just cold from sitting in my car in the below freezing temps and just needed to get back to room temperature. What a relief! If and when this ever dies I will definitely replace with another GHD!
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Oct 6, 2014
5 Star Rating
Finally Able To Come Close To What My Stylist Does
Used to have an ordinary flatiron from Target, probably $30. It was okay but not great, and rarely made my hair look like it does after Nicholas styles it. I asked what flatiron he used, and he recommended GHD. So worth it!
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
Rachel Y.
Jun 24, 2013
3 Star Rating
The One That I Receive Just Look Like Some Returned !!
I just received ghd professional 1" gold flat today! when I opened the box the flat was opened ,not fold by any wire or plastic! look cheap! I am worried about is that a real GHD flat iron! but I will keep post when I use tonight !
33 out of 37 shoppers thought this review wasn't helpful.
Apr 14, 2013
5 Star Rating
Best flat iron EVER.
it heats up in less than 30 seconds which make it quick and easy. I have really fine, stringy hair and normally just use it to smooth out my hair after blow drying or for the morning after a wash to keep it sleek. All my friends with curly thick hair love using it when they come over too. I also love that it automatically turns off if you're not using it, so I never have to worry about accidentally leaving it on.
Definitely would recommend this!
5 out of 5 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Mcfarland Ca
Mar 10, 2013
3 Star Rating
Chi Or Ghd
firt of all i have think curly hair its hard to get stright for a hold day..... i got this ghd on sale and i was a so excited i always wanted a GHD the first day i used it i was not that happy the heat wasn't as hot i had to pass thu my hair more then 3 times so order a CHI (cam in 3 day) so i decited to use CHI on the right side and GHD on the left side of my hair. i was actulay happy with the left side it stayed stright the hole day then the right side. the right side got puffy and was getting wave i didn't like it at all so i got to stick to GHD
A T.
United States
Nov 14, 2012
4 Star Rating
Amazing Flat Iron! Buy This Over The Chi
At first I didn't want the red and preferred the original professional iron GHD offers, but the red is actually better than I thought it would be and I got an amazing price. For me, the bag was useless as I already had a Vera Bradley heat resistant pouch. It's oversized and gaudy. Though it does have room for hair tools because it has a zippered pouch to protect the iron and then some room on the side for the clips, comb etc. so it may work for you, just not my preference. I had a chi for years before it died on me before I went to Europe. I bought a transformer and adapter and it still just died, couldn't get it to turn on even when I got back home. The GHD has automatic dual voltage so you don't need to worry and you only need an adapter for the plug. It's lighter than the chi, curls better than the Chi, AND straightens better than the Chi. I also noticed it does not get as hot but still does a better job straightening. With the Chi I would have to wait to do a section again because it was too hot to touch. The clips actually work great, wasn't expecting them too.
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Nov 9, 2012
4 Star Rating
If You're Thinking Of Buying This, Read This Review...
OK so first of all, I have very frizzy, wavy hair. It's quite kinky and thick. Extremely hard to straighten and keep straight. I got this for an AMAZING price of $110. Folica had it on sale for $150, and I had a $40 off coupon if you re-send in an old iron/hair dryer. So I think that's an excellent price.

This iron is really good quality. Heats up very quickly, and makes the hair very straight. I also love the auto-shutoff setting, as I often forget to turn off my iron. I LOVE the swivel cord, so that the cord doesn't get wrapped around the iron, drawers or anything else in my bathroom. So convenient. It makes the hair feel smooth and look shiny. Plus, you get a 2 year warranty if you register it with GHD.

I don't like the fact that it has only one heat setting. This is a con for people with thick, frizzy hair (like me) or really thin hair. You can't adjust the setting. Also, I do sometimes have to make 2 passes on a section of hair (mostly very kinky strands near the ear or neck). Also, not sure it's worth the money if you pay the full price. It's a great iron, but I feel like I get similar results with a Sedu.

All in all, for the price I paid I am happy. It gets 4/5 stars in my book.
2 out of 2 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
Nov 5, 2012
2 Star Rating
Not As Good As Ghd Iv
I bought this ghd Scarlett Professional Iron to replace my old ghd IV iron which was a power horse and was still going strong at 5 years old. When I damaged the chord, I decided to just buy a new one. Apparently the ghd Professional was the new replacement for the IV.

Well it is NOT the same. It does not style my hair the same, and the style doesn't keep as long as it used to. My ghd curls fall flat after a couple hours, and this sucks all the body out of my hair (unlike the IV). Also, the chord for this iron tangles terribly. I've had it for only a few months and already the chord is tangled and looks gnarled.

I had always touted ghd as the BEST flat iron on the market, but I no longer endorse them because this let me down. I'm hoping they re-work this "Professional" iron, and improve it, because as-is, it's a disappointment.
Toronto, Canada
Oct 20, 2012
4 Star Rating
Great, But At This Price It Should Be Perfect
I'm a bit torn on the GHD Gold Flat iron. After a few bad experiences with other irons, I decided to go for "the best," despite the price tag. Although I did buy this one Folica on a great promo, and it only cost me about $125, which I think is a steal (note that I'm in Canada, but I had it shipped to my brother in the US. Folica ships with UPS, which means you will get hit with duties AND brokerage fees, without question). First impressions - the design of the iron is really nice. It's very light, but doesn't feel cheap at all. The plastic is high quality and very well made. The on-off button is on the inside, so you can't accidentally turn it off while in use. It's a slider with the GHD logo lit up. It flashes while warming up, and stays lit when hot. It heats up super super fast - even before I'm done sectioning my hair, and then it beeps to let you know it's ready. Styling with it is easy, and it makes nice curls. However, the plates aren't "floating" and they do snag my hair a bit, which is my biggest pet peeve. It doesn't snag as bad as my Babyliss Argan Heat, or the cheapo Conair I used once, but I can still "hear" my hair passing though, if you know what I mean. It's just not completely smooth. As everyone else has mentioned, it does NOT have temperature control. At this price, GHD should just suck it up and give us what we want, instead of smugly insisting that they know what the best temperature is. I have the Scarlet edition, which comes with a case and heat mat too. Personally, I don't like these - they are both too tacky and bulky, which defeats the purpose for travel. The satin is not exactly the best thing to have pacing down on your counter in the bathroom. I would've preferred a really thin, flexible, sleek case or mat. It also comes with a guard that slides onto the end of the iron, to keep the plates together for travel or storage. Again, it's way too bulky, and not well designed. As you pick up the iron to move it, you squeeze the plates together, which causes the guard to fall off. My previous iron, a Toni & Guy, had an awesome feature, a little slider that would lock the plates together. Why don't all irons have this? At the time I took it for granted. Overall, I'm happy with the high quality and the performance of the GHD, but I think it could use improvement in the fit of the plates, the accessories, and temperature control.
3 out of 3 shoppers thought this review was helpful.
1 2 3 4 5
Server Name